ALI Founding Leaders

Founding Leader

John R. Hoyle

Founder, Administrative Leadership Institute

John R. Hoyle was a professor of educational administration at Texas A&M University and specialized in leadership training and assessment and future studies. He was one of America's leading reformers in administrator training and was an authority on future studies. In a 2004 survey, Hoyle was selected by his peers as one of four "exceptional living scholars" in educational leadership. His book titled Leadership and Futuring:  Making Visions Happen, published by Corwin Press (1995), gained wide readership and was a best seller. Another book titled Leadership and the Force of Love: Six Keys to Motivating with Love (2002), written for leaders in business, agriculture, military, education and government, was also a best seller for Corwin Press. Among his honors are two Texas A&M University Awards for Distinguished Achievement in Teaching and the coveted Golden Deeds Award in 1995. He chaired the Texas Future Superintendent Advisory Team and authored the report, "Superintendents for Texas School Districts:  Solving the Crisis in Executive Leadership." Dr. Hoyle passed away in March, 2013.

Key Former Leader

Virginia Collier

Retired, Administrative Leadership Institute

Virginia Collier, Ph.D., was a clinical associate professor at Texas A&M University.  She served as a teacher, principal and superintendent in the Texas school system for 35 years. Governor George W. Bush appointed her as a member of the Texas State Board of Educator Certification.  She served as the first female president of the Texas Association of School Administrators and is active in the American Association of School Administrators.  The focus of her work was serving as coordinator of the Texas A&M cohort programs in the San Antonio and Houston areas and working with master's and doctoral students in principal and superintendent preparation.  She was co-director of Administrative Leadership Institute and co-author of the The Superintendent as CEO:  Standards-Based Performance (2005).